rock hall luxe lodging
1 1 1 1 1 1 1
reservations



Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player




Reviews


B&B.Com Reviews


5/27/2011
My wife and I took a quick trip out of NYC and spent two nights at Rock Hall this past week. We have travelled all over and this inn is in a category by itself. We were made to feel like we were friends of the owners rather than paying guests and that is not easy!! The food was fantastic and we were amazed that Michael smoked the trout for our breakfast just before we came downstairs! We took a private Mixology 101 Class and although we are wine enthusiasts the class was incredible and we came away with their signature cocktail shaker and some great cocktail recipes that we can make at home with fresh ingredients from any produce stand or farmers market (since we don't have Rock Hall's convenient garden outside our kitchen door) Rock Hall is an exclusive retreat with great service and interesting innkeepers that made sure we had the Spa Services we had asked for, handled our dinner reservations for us and even made arrangements for a local car service so we could enjoy our favorite wines without worrying about driving back to the inn. We're hoping there's some availability in August so we can convince some friends to take over the whole estate with us!

5/23/2011
A beautiful setting in the Berkshires; close to wineries, excellent dining and many antique shops. Lovely grounds with a pool and spa. Very interesting innkeepers who make you feel welcome.

5/9/2010
I have stayed at the Post Ranch Inn in Big Sur, a bunch of Four Seasons hotels, a goodly number of FIVE STAR hotels in Europe and Japan, but for comfort, beauty, charm and attention to detail, this is as good as a New England B&B can get -- in fact, to call this charming, delightful home a B&B is doing it a disservice. Imagine, rather, that you are staying at your mom and dad's magnificent New England home....IF your mom and dad are meticulous perfectionists with, respectively, the taste of a Fifth Avenue fashion designer and the talent and charm of a sommelier, and they are plying you with magnificent food, gracious support and wonderful accommodations for your entire stay. Imagine that, and you approximate the experience at Rock Hall. Each room is spacious, delightful, charming and relaxing. The billiards room is, well, as good as anything you will ever play in. The living room, dining room and day room are as charming as a series of rooms can be. If you want to watch a movie, up to the third floor to sit in the private screening room...POPCORN MAKER is to the left.... Care to take a stroll? Try the front for the view of some specimen pines and other trees. The back yard (and to call it a back yard is like calling the Queen Mary a boat) has a breathtaking pool, hot tub and lawn. In short, the grounds are meticulous and lovely. When I was describing the place to my cousin, she asked if Colebrook is a "destination," and I said, "it is now." Finally, one more word about your host, Stella and Michael; that word is: delightful. Oh, and charming. Oh, and helpful. Oh, and caring. I will be back in the fall....

2/10/2010   
From the moment my husband and I passed through the gates of the Rock Hall B&B we knew that we had chosen the perfect place to spend my 40th birthday weekend. Owners Michael & Stella greeted us upon arrival and acquainted us with the house, its amenities and history. We were thrilled with our room choice, chamber number 2. A highlight for me was the four poster bed with the most beautiful and comfortable bedding; I had a perfect night's sleep. My husband enjoyed the unique surround shower. Even though it was cold and icy outside we managed to keep very busy in the house. We enjoyed multiple games of backgammon by the fireside. Michael served us a delicious appetizer of shrimp and peppers wrapped in soft white corn tortillas while he gave us pointers on how to play the game. After dinner out we came back to enjoy a movie and popcorn in the theater. The breakfast that Michael prepares is sumptuous, we enjoyed his homemade gravlax and Stella's blueberry preserves. The house is so beautifully appointed and comfortable that we did want to leave, we felt we had just scratched the surface of what Rock Hall has to offer. We are very excited to re-visit in the summer when we can enjoy the pool, tennis courts and trails. The Somers are excellent hosts and their home is really a treasure. Rock Hall is the perfect romantic getaway nestled in a very beautiful area of Connecticut.

2/2/2010
3 of my closest friends and I recently escaped to Rock Hall for a girls getaway. Our expections were to exceeded beyond what we ever imagined by the hospitality of Stella and Michael (the Owners), the beauty of the Inn, local restaurants and accessibility to many fun things and the wonderful, home-cooked breakfast! I have recommended this Inn to other friends and family as well as my Publisher and Executive Editor. If there was ever a story to be told about the restoration and beautification of a B&B, this is it. My husband and I plan on returning this summer to enjoy the beautiful pool and grounds and my Uncle is planning on going to this resort with his bride of 25 years to celebrate their anniversary.

1/31/2010
My boyfriend and I visited 19 Rock Hall Road last winter. We had seen a review on NY1 and afterward decided on a spur of the moment getaway weekend. Firstly, the house is beautiful. We were greeted by owners Stella and Michael, a lovely couple from NYC, who proceeded to give us a tour of the home. Their attention to detail in the restoration of this home was amazing and you could see their passion. Our room was so comfortable, the house enormous - we watched a movie in the private screening room, played in the billiard room and generally felt at home. Stella and Michael were super helpful in exploring the surrounding area, especially directing us to some amazing restaurants. We had to leave pretty early Sunday morning, so we didn't stay for breakfast, but Stella sent us off with a boxed lunch. So sweet! And included in that boxed lunch was THE most amazing gravlox sandwich (Michael's specialty). Ridiculously good. We'll definitely be back.

1/29/2010
Four of us stayed at Rock Hall early December to usher in a milestone birthday. We were looking for pampering, luxury, glamour, and comfort--and found it all at Rock Hall. We stayed in Chambers 1 and 2. Both are over the top, but you MUST upgrade to Chamber 2 which is the ULTIMATE. Stella helped us plan our "glamour girl" itenerary with a day trip to the spa and then a special dinner at a French bistro, and she even made the reservations on our behalf. Her and Michael could not do enough to make sure our stay was special and memorable. We loved the mansion and behaved like school girls as we explored the never-ending rooms and couldn't believe the level of care that it took to restore it to beyond its original glory. This was a girls' trip like none other, and I'd definitely recommend Rock Hall for small groups looking for a unique way to create a trip to remember.

Trip Advisor

Jan 1, 2011
What can we say? The house is beautiful, the rooms are large w/ in-room fireplaces. its very romantic. The food is very different and excellent and, if you're up for it, the company of the hosts is well worth you're while. If you're planning to be in the Berkshires, its a worthwhile 30 minute drive drive to Great Barrington. If that's too far, then its a drawback. The 2 restaurants they recommended were about 20-25 min away and amazing, as well. There are so many things to do, you may just want to stay there for the weekend - in summer, tennis, pool, hiking, spa. In winter, an in-house movie theater, all kinds of games/pool room/ping pong, etc, spa (awesome massage), a great library, and, for a B&B, a pretty decent gym.
  • Date of stay October 2010
  • Visit was for Leisure
  • Traveled with With Spouse/Partner
  • Member since November 12, 2010
Nov 2010
Rock Hall B&B is really unlike most B&B's. Most are very nice houses, with nice rooms and hopefully good service. Rock hall is in a different category. The house is truly majestic sitting on acres of forest. It is a very large house, really a mansion. The room we stayed in was absolutely marvelous. we stayed in other B&B's on the trip but this place was very special, absolutely worth a visit. Adding to the splendor is the gracious and lovely proprietors, Michael and Stella. They are terrific people who run a great place, Our breakfast from Michael surpassed all expectations. When we fondly remember our time in western Ct. The stay at Rock Hall stands out as a highlight. When next we return to CT. Rock Hall will be a must for us, as it should for you
  • Date of stay October 2010
  • Visit was for Leisure
  • Traveled with With Spouse/Partner
  • Member since November 22, 2010
Nov 2010
This was our second visit to Rock Hall (first was in July 2010). Stella and Michael are wonderful hosts. The house and grounds are beautiful. The area has activities all year round. Stella and Michael suggested some wonderful restaurants and activities. We had a wonderful relaxing time.
  • Date of stay September 2010
  • Visit was for Leisure
  • Traveled with With Spouse/Partner
  • Member since November 5, 2010
May 2010
My husband and I stayed at Rock Hall this week and loved it! The house is absolutely beautiful, the decorating is outstanding. The house is full of things to do, fitness room, movie room, billiard room, game room, etc. Our bedroom was just spectacular and the grounds are beautiful as well, great pool, tennis courts and walking trail.
Michael, the owner, was one of the nicest hosts we've ever encountered at an inn. He made us great cocktails and the best guacamole we've ever had! We really enjoyed talking with him, he's very interesting.
Awesome breakfast, again, the best we've ever had at an inn. Healthy and delicious.
A stay at this inn is a must!!
  • Date of stay May 2010
  • Visit was for Leisure
  • Traveled with With Spouse/Partner
  • Age group 35-49
  • Member since April 19, 2009
May 2010
This is a gorgeous early 20th Century summer "Cottage" (most of us would call it a mansion) on 23 beautifully manicured grounds with large free-form in ground swimming pool, in Colebrook, CT, close to the Yale summer music school and festival in Norfolk. The location is also reasonable distance from Tanglewood and other cultural attractions of the southern Berkshires. The hosts, Mike and Stella Somers are lively, engaging and hospitable. Mike, a former investment banker, is also a gourmet chef and makes delicious homemade gravlax which he serves at their sumptuous breakfast. The house is filled with marvelous architectural detail, tastefully decorated and furnished. This is an idea spot for a romantic restful getaway, just two plus hours from New York City. Tremendous value! We would recommend it.
  • Date of stay May 2010
  • Visit was for Leisure
  • Traveled with With Spouse/Partner
  • Member since May 31, 2009
February 2010
The term "bed and breakfast" does not do Rock Hall justice. It would be like calling Times Square as merely the intersection of Broadway and Seventh Avenue. Especially the bed in Chamber 2, which is so soft and luxurious and the breakfast that is meticulously prepared in a grand dining room under a tremendous chandelier. Our group of women chose Rock Hall to celebrate our birthdays. Our expectations were far exceeded by the scale and luxury of the estate. We had the entire run of the mansion, from the billiard room to the screening room, complete with old school style popcorn and candy. The fireplace is so large that we all fit INSIDE! What a perfect setting for late afternoon cocktails and snacks lovingly prepared by the innkeepers. Stella and Michael made sure that every aspect of our stay was perfect, from our restaurant selections to spa appointments. Take your girlfriends and plan your visit to Rock Hall for a girls' weekend you will never forget! I am hoping to visit again in the summer to take advantage of the inground, heated pool and hot tub plus tennis courts. What B&B has all this??? And no hotel has this level of personal service! Book your rooms and you will not be disappointed.
  • Date of stay December 2009
  • Visit was for Leisure
  • Traveled with With Friends
  • Member since February 11, 2010
Yelp Reviews

This is the most incredible B&B on the planet. My boyfriend and I had an amazing time at Rock Hall. The hosts Stella and Michael are incredible - friendly, interesting, and accommodating. The house is out of this world - 100 yrs old and beautifully kept with a rich history that Stella can tell you all about! The rooms are gorgeous and well decorated. The grounds are expansive and beautiful. There is a pool, a hot tub, a marked path through the woods, a billiards room, a movie room (with popcorn!) - basically anything you could ever want. I really could go one forever praising Rock Hall. And the breakfast! It was the best breakfast I've ever had. Fresh, local and delicious - house cured salmon, berries from their garden, goat cheese, yogurt, home made granola, etc.. You should definitely stay here, it's an experience you will remember forever. 
9/16/2009  

Feb 6, 2010 | Trip type: Couples
We have had the pleasure of staying at Rock Hall for both summer and winter weekends. Everything said previously is true and more. The accommodations are luxurious and tastefully done, the grounds are magnificent summer and winter, the service provided by hosts Michael and Stella both professional and friendly, and the breakfast unique and delicious. Whether you want to swim, ski, antique, shop in Berkshires, watch a movie in the in-house theater room, listen to music in town or just sit by the fire and read, Rock Hall is a great place to stay. For everything Rock Hall offers, it is priced fairly compared to most other comparable places.
  • Date of stay July 2009
  • Visit was for Leisure
  • Traveled with With Spouse/Partner
  • Member since July 19, 2006
Save Review
4 of 5 stars
Feb 3, 2010 | Trip type: Business, Couples
Many times when I have stayed in bed and breakfasts I have been disappointed by the overly cute atmosphere. This a historic property that has been lovingly restored with a restrained hand. Run quite professionally, the welcome is warm but I did not feel like I was staying n someones house. Furniture, sheets, amenities were all of the highest quality. We fell asleep to a roaring fire at our feet in our spacious room. I'd love to see the extensive grounds and pool in the warmer months!
  • Date of stay December 2009
  • Visit was for Leisure
  • Traveled with With Spouse/Partner
  • Member since January 07, 2007

 


line

Guest Rooms | Sneak Preview | Book Online | Addison Mizner | Floor Plan | Site Map | Links | Gifts | Corporate Offerings | Contact

Ph: (860) 379-2230 | Ph: (917) 696-4955 | info@19rockhallroad.com
19 Rock Hall Road / PO Box 312 Colebrook, CT 06021
facebook twitter

© 2009-2012 Rock Hall Luxe Lodging

paii Wedding Websites and Wedding Planning from Wedsimple.com bed and breakfast.com rock hall rock hall on luxist national park service bershires visitors Litchfield Hills northwest visitors
connecticut wine trail lime rock raceway infinity hall metro metro Bestweekends Westminster School